top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMary Kudoadzi

Week 5: Career Insight

Updated: Jul 7, 2019

So this week I got more insight on the jobs prospects of a CS major. Which was really helpful because I think my school focuses on just the coding and not so much on where that will lead you. I’m also in a unique predicament because I’m not sure I exactly want to do with my CS degree when I graduate and I’m hoping to not go straight into being behind a computer all day. I know that there is something that would better suite me and better utilize my other skills.... but I don’t know what it is, yet. Luckily, I was able to talk to several people this week about what they have done and what could be an option for me.

At this computing networking event, I talked to a person who’s been in software development and programming their whole career. We talked about the competitiveness in the field. "You have to constantly be learning," he repeated. Which is totally right. If I'm gonna be in a field that is constantly changing, need to stay caught up to not get left behind and stay ahead to be an asset to the company. He talked about the lack of loyalty he experienced and how the most successful people who knew moved around a lot looking for the best opportunities. While the fast pace life would make sure I never get bored, I may leave me worn out. I'm gonna have to do more research before I'm certain but I haven't heard this perspective before so it was super insightful.

On Thursday, I went to a Cyber Security panel hosted by Black Professionals in International Affairs. The panel was all Black people and so was the room. Which a huge change for me. I've never been in a room of people interested in Computer science that was all Black let alone a group specifically talking about Cyber security. I think I've always heard about cyber security and thought "hm cool" but I've never been motivated to be in that field. During the discussion, I felt a little bulb go off I my head. The discussion was specifically how cyber security or lack thereof affects Black people especially when what could be a room of well meaning coders lack the diversity to properly consider how their technology might effect Black people. Occasionally, the discussion veered into a more general talk about Black technological spaces and the way people are opted into things without even knowing what means. For example, the way 23 and Me holds on to peoples' DNA. Ultimately, there are lot of holes in the technology that is coming out and there needs to be more diversity to block out biased code. Which could be something I want to do.

Lastly, I met with Dr. Sherrie Green. She gave me a lot of advice about my lack of certainty and my interests in several things that don't exactly seem to overlap. She told me I'm not trying to find the quickest way from point A to point B so I don't have to forgo things that would "deviate" from a path because there is no paved path. I can all the passions I want and just because I pursue one doesn't mean I can't come back around and pursue my other interests. I felt very relieved in hearing this because I think for along time I've been trying to decide where to invest myself when I should look at where do I want to start.

Overall, I still in the same place of deciding but the conversations I had this week made me less worried about what I may be missing out on. I still have a long way to go in discovering what will make me happy but I now know where to start.

Google search here I come!




8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page