top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMary Kudoadzi

Week 7: Right Place Right Time

So this week I went to Disney World! A place I don't think I really thought about since childhood and even then I never understood the scope of a place like Disney World but before I get too much into detail let me take it back to the beginning.

My mentor decided maybe two weeks ago that I would come to a workshop being held between the NSF and the Computing Alliance of Hispanic Serving Institutions (CAHSI). So on Monday I flew out after work and arrived to this gorgeous resort in Orlando, Florida in the evening. I get to my room and its two queen bed room with a flat screen and this huge bathroom. The shower is something I already miss. *swallows sadness*

The next day I began taking notes on the workshop which basically focused on how to improve the capabilities of the HSI's for competitive research and how to ensure the schools actually support their Hispanic students. This hit on a lot of important conversations that I have been discussing with my mentor and at my school. With the help of one of the directors in my division I was able to get countless card and connect with a lost of educators, researchers and deans in STEM. I am super excited for what that those connections can develop into.

One huge connection I made, was with the CEO of Great Minds in STEM. An organization that focus on supporting underrepresented minorities in STEM. They do programming from middle school to high school led by college students. They also host a national conference that provides both development and career opportunities. The CEO saw me at this workshop and asked my mentor if I could stay for a summit that was happening the next couple of days. This summit was about leadership development and was being held to instruct delegates of the conference of their responsibilities because I was able to stay I have become a delegate for their program and will be invited back to help support their national conference in September. I will also and was able to connect with several huge companies and organizations because there were recruiters there. Lockheed Martin, the CIA, Raytheon and many more had representatives present.

GMiS also has a close relationship with Disney so they were able to get us a behind the scenes tour which WOW! Being in a group of STEM majors and grad students made the analysis of Disney's very complicated systems so much more interesting. I don't mean to geek out but thinking about the complex systems and algorithms they use in things from the rides to the way laundry is done was so mind blowing. On, the last full day we got to go to Disney World and somehow the weather decided that was a good time to rain but I can't complain because what's a better place to get soaked than in the most magical place in the world?

I still can't believe my luck. All because I was at a workshop, I am now in a program, that has a message that hits super close to home, as a leader. I am still trying to wrap my head around it. I don't feel entirely deserving but I am so grateful I hope to do all I can and more to show how much this has meant to me and to support their work in STEM diversity and inclusion.



Here's a picture of me (far right) with a few of the other delegates.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page