top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMary Kudoadzi

Denver to DC: Week 1

I have been looking forward to this trip for months now. The fact that I am actually here is amazing. Getting here over a three day weekend was a blessing and a curse. For one I have some time to get set up, take a nap, and work on homework - in no particular order. However, I feel like I should be doing something but I have no idea what to do. I think I was lucky enough to spend a lot of time reflecting and thinking about goals.

This all is very different for me. I have never had an internship before, let alone one with the National Science Foundation so as soon as I was notified about my acceptance I was full of anticipation. With this opportunity, I really want to strengthen my STEM identity and my career goals. I’m not really sure what it will be like day to day but just looking at my mentor even if a little of her rubs off on me I’ll be set.

With finally meeting the other interns and the coordinator it’s been very different than I expected. I feel like it perfectly exemplifies business casual. I think more than anything I appreciate how coming out to DC has allowed me to reimagine what professionalism looks like. I think this internship will fuel not just professional growth but also personal growth and I’m so ready for that. With our last day being a trip to the African American Museum I’m sure this internship will be eye opening in so many ways.




8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page