top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMary Kudoadzi

Week 4: Working the Net

Updated: Jul 31, 2019

This week was nearly themed. Four-ish huge networking opportunities fell into my lap. (Don't worry I won't go too deep into the details... or I'll try not to) From office etiquette to developing relationships in social events, I carefully watched how others behaved and did my best to properly navigate these spaces.

The first networking opportunity was an office party. This was a brunch party to celebrate the directors and management of my division. I'll be honest, initially, I was excited about the food but as I socialized I realized that being a summer intern I am somewhat stuck making first impressions. Which isn't necessarily a bad thing I just need to be conscious of it. Ultimately, the office brunch was a great place to learn more about people and break through surface level conversations. While I can't relate to most of what people have going on in their personal lives, I found ways to connect to people and hopefully not over talk. (Which I sometimes do this when I'm in uncomfortable situations) Overall, I think I did a good job but I wish I leaned into discomfort a little more and talked to groups where I didn't know anyone.

Next, was this engineering status report. This was a guest speaker who did a study essentially on diversity in engineering looking at the number of under represented minorities that earn engineering degrees from universities. This is something I am very interested in. Before the presentation, there was an opportunity to talk with the people who conducted the research. I was super existed. However, I didn't realize this could be a networking opportunity. I saw it as more of an insider's scoop which it was but I definitely could have utilized the time to personalize the interaction more. I think I adjusted pretty quickly but I think with some preparation I could have definitely done a better job. They still seemed interested in talking more so I will definitely be getting in contact with them to try and learn more about them and their work in STEM education.

Another big work opportunity was I finally got lunch with two people from my office, one was a director and the other was a fellow who has a PhD and Dr. Payton invited me to casually get tea with her. (Sidenote: I feel like I've never casually known this many doctors and I feel Dr. adjacent because of it. Which means nothing but it definitely makes me feel elevated even though I'm just junior) These interactions were very conventional networking opportunities so I definitely used them to discuss my interests as well as to deepen my understanding of what they do in and outside of work. Ultimately, I has made me feel more comfortable with the people in my office and it makes me happy that the people in my office value my presence and actually want to get to know me.

Lastly, this week I attended some local profession networking events. The first was a mixer and was like, I know this sounds weird, a LinkedIn party. The music was super loud and but people were exchanging cards and LinkedIn's so quickly. I met some interesting people, notably one was a speech therapist who talked about how language skills impact some students math proficiency. Another, offered me a job after I graduate. Outside of them, I don't think I really made any impactful connections BUT I am definitely getting the hang of fast pace networking. On the other end of "mixers" I went to a professional build event thrown by the National Society of Black Engineers. This event was mainly to encourage people to join the NSBE professional chapter but it really gave me insight on the value of a network like NSBE. Once I'm back on campus, I'm gonna prioritize being a contributing member of the NSBE chapter in my school.

Networking was off to a slow start for me, especially LinkedIn, but I'm beginning to not feel like these things are strictly transactional and when they are I think I'm going to find a way to gain something from each of them.


P.S. Sorry this picture looks like it was taken with a landline.



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page